Nominating Committee focuses on associate directors

Nominating Committee focuses on associate directors

Business Meetings | Atlanta, Georgia, United States | Stephen Chavez, Adventist Review

Brings back names that had been sent back to committee

Robert Kyte, chair of the Nominating Committee, and Ismael Castillo, associate secretary, appeared before session delegates Wednesday afternoon, July 30, to present what Kyte called, two reports.

"Yesterday one of the reports we presented was referred back to the committee," said Kyte in his introductory statement. "The committee met today with the person who requested that the report be sent back to the committee. The item was considered carefully and prayerfully by the Nominating Committee and we are going to be resubmitting the report in total today."

Then Castillo recommended the following names as associate directors of their respective General Conference Departments:

Suastin Mfune, Children's Ministries; Mario Ceballos, Adventist Chaplaincy Ministries; Raquel Arrias, Women's Ministries; Gary Swanson, Sabbath School/Personal Ministries; Kathleen Kuntaraf, Peter Landless, Fred Hardinge, Health Ministries; Wilmar Hirle, Publishing Ministries; Barry Bussey and James Standish, Public Affairs and Religious Liberty.

The nominations passed with a clear majority.

Delegates then approved the following nominations:

Myron Iseminger, treasurer for the Upper Columbia Conference in North America, was elected an associate secretary of the General Conference.

Gilbert Cangy was elected director of the Youth Department. He previously served in Youth Ministries in the South Pacific Division.

Charles Simpson and Wilfredo Sumagaysay, both incumbents, were returned as associate directors of Trust Services.

Luis Schulz was returned as associate director of the General Conference Education Department. And others voted in as associate directors in that department were Michael M. Lekic, previously Education director of the Southern Asia Pacific Division; John Wesley Taylor V, previously serving at Southern Adventist University in North America; and Hudson Kibuuka, formerly Education director of East-Central Africa Division.

Mario Nino, Stewardship director of the Inter-American Division, was elected as associate director of the Stewardship Department.